Superfluous Yet Delicious

We Cook. We Eat. We laugh a lot.

CSA Week 1

Our first CSA pickup was on Thursday, and it was raining. So I grabbed my little Trader Joe’s Market Cart, pulled on my FiveFingers, and set out.

Side Note- Everytime I wear my fivefingers, I become an ambassador for the brand. Everyone wants to know how comfortable they are, if I can actually run in them, etc. So yes, they are comfortable. Yes, you can run in them. On to the share:

Image

Strawberries, rhubarb, harukei turnips, radishes, Boston lettuce, and broccoli.

The folks at http://www.farmdirectcoop.org/ had warned us that the first few weeks would be lighter, and I was happy about that, as it gave us a chance to ease into this farmshare thing. Our cheese share will start next week as well.

After I got the share, I stopped at the farmer’s market on my way back for some eggs and meat. I got a pound and a half of beef short ribs, and started plotting dinner.

The beef went in the pressure cooker with beef broth, onions, and some salt and pepper.

I chopped up half of the turnips and half of the radishes along with the radish greens for a salid, which I topped with Carl’s new invention: prosciuttons. Take a cast iron skillet on low heat, put slices of prosciutto on the dry skillet, ignore until crispy.

I sautéed the turnip greens with bacon and topped with vinegar, and steamed up the broccoli  I was so focused on getting everything on the table and dressed correctly that I failed completely in doing anything to the broccoli. Nothing that couldn’t be fixed with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil, though.

Dinner turned out delicious, and I still have the rest of the turnips and radishes, and the fruit, to come up with new and exciting plans for.

Image

Image

Image

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “CSA Week 1

  1. Pingback: CSA Round-Up: Weeks 1-3 | Superfluous Yet Delicious

Leave a Reply

